Home » ARTICLES » Tottenham Defender Included In EA Community Team Of The Season

Tottenham Defender Included In EA Community Team Of The Season

Help the blog by Following us on Twitter and Google News


Tottenham’s Belgian central defender Jan Vertonghen has made it to the FIFA 17 Community Team of the Season and surprisingly so.

Over the last month, the FIFA 17 community has exchanged messages on forums to decide on which players should be selected for the Gold, Silver and Bronze squads. The criteria was that only those players who appeared regularly could be chosen and that they shouldn’t have appeared in a Team of the Week over the course of the season.

Vertonghen has been brilliant at the heart of the Tottenham defence and has been rock solid along with Toby Alderweireld at the back. When Vertonghen was out injured, the Tottenham defence sometimes looked ragged. However, when Vertonghen was fit and firing, he seemed to have a great grip on the organisation of the Spurs back-line.

Jan Vertonghen, along with Alderweireld has formed a phenomenal partnership at the back, which has seen Spurs concede just 24 goals in the league this season – the least in the Premier League. A surprise to many Spurs fans will be the inclusion of former player Federico Fazio who seems to have recaptured his form in Italy.

Community Team Of The Season – Gold

Starting XI

  • GK: Oliver Baumann – TSG 1899 Hoffenheim (Germany) – Germany
  • RB: Carvajal –  Real Madrid (Spain) – Spain
  • CB: Jan Vertonghen – Tottenham Hotspur (England) – Belgium
  • CB:  Federico Fazio- Roma (Italy) – Argentina
  • CDM: Danilo Pereira – FC Porto (Portugal) – Portugal
  • CM: Jonathan Viera – Las Palmas (Spain) – Spain
  • CDM: Morgan Sanson –  Olympique de Marseille (France) – France
  • CM: Karim El Ahmadi –  Feyenoord (Holland) – Morocco
  • LM: Bruma – Galatasaray SK (Turkey) – Portugal
  • RM: Gelson Martins – Sporting CP (Portugal) – Portugal
  • ST: Sebastian Driussi- River Plate (Argentina) – Argentina


  • GK: Martin Campana –  Independiente (Argentina) – Argentina
  • CB: Pontus Jansson –  Leeds United (England) – Sweden
  • CB: Mathias Jorgensen – FC Kobenhavn (Denmark) – Denmark
  • CDM: Denis Glushakov – Spartak Moscow (Russia) – Russia
  • CM: Ruud Vormer – Club Brugge (Belgium) – Holland
  • ST: Giampaolo Pazzini – Hellas Verona (Italy) – Italy
  • RM: Yoric Ravet – BSC Young Boys (Switzerland) – France


  • CB: Marcelo – Besiktas IK (Turkey) – Brazil
  • CB: Michal Pozdan – Legia Warszawa (Poland) Poland
  • CM: Lucas Torreira-  Sampdoria (Italy) – Uruguay
  • ST: Roger – Levante UD (Spain) – Spain
  • RM: Matt Ritchie – Newcastle United (England) – Scotland

Leave a Comment

Subscribe and bring the lane to your mail!

* indicates required

Intuit Mailchimp